Adding content outside the Drive folderΒ 

Last updated by Sandeep Dinesh a month ago
Β 
Google Drive Shortcuts Β are a feature that let you link to files and folders anywhere in your Google Drive. Kbee supports Drive Shortcuts out of the box, including both files and folders.Β 
Β 
Shortcuts allow you to add files and folders to your Kbee space even if they’re not in the Kbee folder in Drive.Β 
Β 
The best part about shortcuts is that content is not duplicated and is always kept in sync, even though it exists in multiple folders! We recommend using shortcuts whenever possible vs making a copy.Β 

Creating a shortcut in KbeeΒ 

You can create shortcuts to files and folders from Kbee. ClickΒ  Add Article Β β†’Β  ShortcutΒ  β†’Β  Select Β the file or folder you want to add.Β 
Β 
Note: BothΒ  Files and Folders Β are added using the Add Article button.Β 
Β 
Image 1 Β 

Creating a shortcut from DriveΒ 

You can also create a shortcut directly from Google Drive. To create a shortcut from Google Drive Β right-click the file Β in Google Drive, clickΒ  Add Shortcut to Drive , and then select the folder with your Kbee content.Β 
Β 
Image 2 Β 
Β 
Important: When creating a shortcut directly in Google Drive, you need to share the original file withΒ kbee-app@appspot.gserviceaccount.com Β otherwise Β Kbee cannot access the file and you will see an error message.Β 

Shortcut PermissionsΒ 

When Kbee scans your Drive folder, it automatically adds itself to the original file or folder linked with a shortcut. The original file or folder that a shortcut links to does not share permissions with the folder the shortcut is in. This means that Kbee’s permission settings Β will not apply to files or folders linked with a shortcut.Β 
Β 
You will need to ensure the original file or folder in Drive has the correct permissions for your viewers to be able to access it.Β 
Β 
Note: Kbee cannot add itself to shortcut content when using theΒ auto-publish Β feature. Make sure you add shortcuts in theΒ Kbee dashboard Β directly, otherwise content will not load.Β 

Shortcut NamingΒ 

When you create a shortcut, it shares its name with the original file or folder. If you change the name of the original file after creating the shortcut, Β the name of the shortcut will not change . You will need to rename the shortcut as well.Β 
Refreshed On: Oct 05, 2022 23:55:36 UTC+00:00